The Thrill of Early July

The seasons are changing; summer is here and a heat wave hit Western NC over the weekend. I watered the garden several days in a row (unusual for me). We had record highs here over the weekend.

This weekend, I also had a gardening friend visit (who I hope will begin to contribute to this blog soon!) We talked about tomato techniques and visited an amazing community garden in the west part of the town I live in.

In order from happiest to least happy, my veggie/fruit plants (to the best of my judgment):
(1) Cucurbits – cantaloupe and pumpkin
(2) Lettuce
(3) Blueberries
(4) Beans
(5) Tomatoes
(6) Strawberries
(7) Peppers

Cantaloupe plant

Cantaloupe plants in July

Pumpkin flowering in July

Pumpkin flowering in July

Leave a Reply

