A garden verse

A verse on garden procrastination
March, 2013

A winter gardener I am not.
I cannot bring myself to freeze
To till the earth and plant some kale
My cheeks turned icy in the breeze.

A nobler soul this time of year
Is further on with garden chores
She’s starting seeds and pruning shrubs
And using up last winter’s stores.

When winter comes, I must admit,
These tasks are furthest from my mind.
My time is filled with drinking tea,
And plodding through the daily grind.

Dear readers, you may think it odd
That winter sloth extends, what’s more
To writing posts for garden blogs –
Which needs no labor out of doors.

Whose place is it to criticize?
For spring will soon enough be here,
Until that day I’ll cozy up
And dream of April’s garden cheer!

Snow surrounds an early daffodil.

Snow surrounds an early daffodil.

Leave a Reply

